Beauty for Breakfast?!?

As my previous post states, over the past week I have been set a challenge by Emma at The Breakfast Affair! All week I have experimented with differet breakfast ingredients  to create a plethora of organic, natural beauty remedies. From the expected to the bizzare (Anti-aging champagne meat facial anyone?!) have a look below to try out a few receipes yourself!

BB

1. Hydrating Honey and Oil Hair Mask: Typical organic beauty ingredients. I cannot rave about honey enough! Not only can you use it on your hair, but you can incoporate it into face masks, homemade wax, and even health aids! This mask leaves your hair feel lovely and silky – believe me my hair is so damaged from bleach, this mask was a lifesaver! However be careful with the amount of oil you use, as you could end up with far too much and greasy looking tresses!

2. Mayonnais Conditioner: This is a bit of a cheat but I have previously blogged about the wonders of using mayonnaise as a hair mask. Particularly for you bottle blondes out there, the protein factor does wonders for your hair. You can find the receipe and blog post here.

3. Natural Blackhead Remover: When I was researching egg receipes, I was pretty disgusted by this at first, but I threw myself, literally, head first into trying it! When mixing and apply the mask it was just as I expected; slimy, slimy, slimy!! Once you get over the intial ‘gross-ness’ of the recipe, it sits on your face like an average face mask. I suffer from large pores, and I have very noticeable blackheads on my nose. Although this recipe did not completley remove them, it did a great job for my first time. I think after trying a few more times my blackheads may have disappeared!

4. Dandruff Hair Mask: Personally, I don’t tend to suffer from dandruff but I thought I’d still give this a go. Lemon juice can be used as a natural highlighter for blonde hair so I felt I would achieve something from this receipe at least. I was shocked at how fresh my hair felt afterwards. Over the past week I’ve also had new hair extensions applied, and the I felt the yoghurt helped gently sooth my scalp. Bonus, this mask smells lovely!

5. Cereal Exfoliater: This receipe I am rather proud to say I invented myself! (Although I am sure there must be variations or similar receipes available online!) I was eating weetabix for breakfast, drafting this blog post and I began thinking about the texture of the weetabix. Milk is a well known beauty aid; often used to revitalise the skin. Milk has been used in beauty as far back as the Egyptian period when Cleopatra would bathe in goats milk to ensure soft skin! The combination of the dry weetabix (which could naturally scrub away dead skin) and milk (which would soother the skin after the exfoliation process) I felt would be perfect! Naturally when eating breakfast, my first thought is to put it onto my face; the life of a beauty blogger eh! Haha. Anyway, I tried this exfoliater and loved it. I was suprised how well it worked. The only struggled was trying to get the correct consistency; I have given a rough estimate on the infograph above however you may need to try a bit of experimentation – just rememeber you need to double the ratio of weetabix to milk. Enjoy!

6. Anti-anging Meat Facial Mask: Well, I never thought I would be placing champagne soaked meat on my face in the aid of beatuy!! I did cheat wiht the ingredients a bit as Emma originally asked me to use bacon or sausage. I could not think of any benefits bacon or sausage could bring to a beauty regime! Too much fat, too much salt, too much grease and thats before you have eaten either of them! I took to the internet to research and found recipe made from raw meat. For those of you rolling in dosh, they also have red caviar facials! Leant meat does contain a combiantino of nutrients which can be abosrbed through the skin, reducing wrinkles, strengthening and increasing collagen. So I tried the mask, place the champagne soaked piece onto my face, which to put nicely, was DISGUSTING!! I spent the next half hour lying down try to stop the meat from sliding down my face (there’s a sentence I never thought I’d type!!) I removed the meat after 30 minutes and felt no different. I could see no visible signs of change. All I could think was that I’d rather spend my afternoons dirnking champagne then putting it on my face! Try this by all means but I honestly don’t think it will be beneficial at all!

Thank you to Emma at The Breakfast Affair for suggesting a joint post; it was really fun!

Have you ever tried any bizarre facemasks? What is the most disgusting thing you’ve ever done in the name of beauty? Comment below and let me know!

One thought on “Beauty for Breakfast?!?

  1. Pingback: Breakfast Beauty Challenge…The Results! | The Breakfast Affair

Leave a Reply

